Close this search box.

WBHS Takes Silver at the Jamie Tindill Chess Tournament

View Flickr photos of the Jamie Tindill Chess Tournament

On Monday 24 and Wednesday, 26 July, Wynberg Boys’ High School hosted the thirteenth annual Jamie Tindill Chess Tournament, held since 2010 to honour the memory of Wynberg’s Jamie Tindill, a member of the WP Chess Team, who tragically drowned in the December holidays ahead of his matric year as a prefect.

Nine schools took part in the tournament and with Wynberg entering two teams. These ten teams of six players each were divided into two pools playing over five rounds. The top two teams in each pool qualified for the semi-finals and finals held on Wednesday, 26 July.

Read the online programme, updated with pool resultsOver the course of Monday’s games, the Wynberg A team dominated their pool, only losing one game out of 24 games between the players. This easily secured them a position in the semi-finals of the tournament along with Oude Molen,  second place for pool A. The WBHS B team performed very well, narrowly losing crucial games against the Rondebosch and Westerford sides that qualified for the semi-finals.

In the semis, Wynberg defeated Rondebosch and Westerford beat Oude Molen in a few very intense games going down to the last minute, and the line was drawn. Oude Molen and Rondebosch competed for third place and Wynberg and Westerford progressed to the final stage.

Notwithstanding an excellent effort by the Wynberg boys, they went down to a deserving Westerford in the final with the score 6.5 – 9.5.

The tournament was a great event all the way through and with top competition from all sides, it was a tournament Jamie would have loved, a real tribute to his memory and passion for the game.

A Team: Keean Vassen, Kevin Karengera, M Saalih Tasriet, Daniel Budge, Benjamin Budge, Damian Hetherington

B Team: Liam Storey, Ethan Pinn, Amien Gierdien, Adam Uhuaba, Ross Read, Attilio Pironi

The Tournament’s Arbiter was Kassiem Slamang, the current chess coach at Wynberg Boys High School.

Board prizes were won by Wynberg boys at boards 2 (Kevin Karengera – 5 wins and a draw), 3 (M Saalih Tasriet – 6 wins), 4 (Daniel Budge – 5 wins), and 6 (Damian Hetherington (6 wins).

Louis Schultz
WBHS Head of Chess

Participating Teams

  1. WBHS (A and B)
  2. Westerford
  3. SACS
  4. RBHS
  5. DSK
  6. Oude Molen
  7. Herschel
  8. St Josephs
  9. Herzlia
Scroll to Top