Close this search box.

Valedictory 2020: Programme and Media Memories

Wednesday 21 October 2020: The Valedictory Service and Prize Giving for the Matric Class of 2020 was held al fresco on the Hawthornden Field – a memorable send-off to a remarkable group of Wynberg Men. The full list of prize winners and special awards, along with the media memories are available on the link.

Order of Proceedings

07:30 Matric Breakfast (Clegg Hall)

1. Welcome: Sipho Dyonase, Grade 12 Prefect

2. Informal Prize Giving: Michael van Schalkwyk, Deputy Head Prefect

3. Awarding of Ties: Mr Peter van Schalkwyk, Deputy Headmaster

4. Grace: Praise Singer – Liyema Sondlo

5. Breakfast

6. Cheer & Gwijo: House Captains & Praise Singer

7. Guest Speaker’s Address: Steve Mathew, Matric 2016

8. House Prefects’ Reports

9. Reply by Staff: Mr Joshua Bassett, Grade 12 Head, on behalf of the House Heads

10. Matric Video: Thurston de Kock

11. Valedictorian Address: Imtiyaaz Dollie

10:00 Valedictory and Prize Giving (Hawthornden Field)

1. Tolling of the Bell: Marko Maric

2. Procession of Matrics: Fly Away with Me – Tom Walker

3. Welcome: Mr Josh Bassett, Head of Grade 12

4. National Anthem

5. Readings: Joshua Thomas

6. Prayer for the Matrics: Isa Ahmed

7. Charge: Mr Matthew Thomson, President of the Old Boys’ Union

8. Presentation of Academic Prizes: Mr Josh Bassett, Head of Grade 12

9. Presentation of Special Prizes: Mr Neil Eddy

10. Headmaster’s Address: Mr Jan de Waal

11. Introduction of Guest Speaker: Ewan James

12. Guest Speaker’s Address: Mr Neil Eddy

13. Thanks: Reyaaz Martin

14. Head Prefect’s Address: Mohammed Zayd Louw

15. Vote of Thanks: A call, adapted from the Preamble to the Constitution of South Africa – Mr Larry Moser, Senior Deputy Headmaster

16. School Song

17. Matrics Lead Out: Hold me while you wait – Lewis Capaldi

18. Matrics Ring the Bell

19. Matric Presentation of Gifts to their Mothers

Scroll to Top