Close this search box.

Programme & Performers: Sunset Concert, Sunday 12 March 23

Please join us on the lawn at the John Baxter Amphitheatre from 16h00 on Sunday 12 March 23 for our first Sunset Concert of the year. Proudly presented by the WBHS Music Department, admission is free, but donations of Easter Eggs to our annual Service Appeal are encouraged, and a collection for Music Funds will be taken. 

Dress warmly against the evening chill, and bring your family and friends to enjoy the sounds of Wynberg Music! Bring your own blankets, seating, and picnic hampers.


The Drums and Pipes of the Cape Town Highlanders

Directed by Charles Canning

  • The Children / Dawning of the Day
  • Call to the Gathering / Cock of the North Hornpipe
  • Nelson Mandela’s Welcome to Glasgow / Glasgow City Police Pipers
  • Competition Medley
The Combined Pipe Band: WBHS Pipe Band and The Drums and Pipes of the Cape Town Highlanders
  • Scotland the Brave/We’re no awa’ te bide awa’ / Sarie Marais
  • Flower of Scotland / Shoshaloza
  • Green Hills of Tyrol / When the Battle’s o’er
  • Amazing Grace
The WBHS Steel Band

Conducted by Dave Reynolds

  • Yankee Man – traditional, arranged by Dave Reynolds
  • The Oldest & Wisest – composed & arranged by Dave Reynolds
  • Crab Rave – by Noise Storm, arranged by Dave Reynolds
The WBHS Pipe Band

Directed by Mike Leresche

  • La Boum – Unknown
  • As it Was – Harry Styles
  • Paddy’s Green Shamrock Shores – Paul Brady
  • Silver Threads – Danks/Rexford
  • Rainbow Country – Traditional
The WBHS Jazz Band

Conducted by Jonathan Chuter

  • Spain by Chick Corea arranged by Paul Jennings
  • Runaway Baby by Bruno Mars arranged by Paul Murtha
  • Fantasy by Earth Wind and Fire arranged by Mark Taylor
The WBHS and WGHS Combined Concert Band

Conducted by Peter Catzavelos

  • Fanfare and Flourishes by James Curnow
  • Hawaii Five-O Theme by Mort Stevens arranged by Sean O’ Laughlin
  • Barrelhouse Blues by Eric Osterling
  • Fever by Davenport and Cooley arranged by John Moss
  • St. Louis Blues arranged by Jay Bocook
  • Eye of the Tiger by Sullivan and Peterik arranged by Johnnie Vinson

The Performers

The Drums and Pipes of the Cape Town Highlanders

Pipe Major: Charles Canning
Pipers: Pipe Major Charles Canning, Pipe Sergeant Craig Johnston, Bruce Isdale, David McCormick, James Cairns, Jonathan Visser, Ayla Fleming
Side Drummers: Drum Sergeant Mathew Grantham, Gavin Sutton, Jenette Reitsma, Martin Knoble, Heinz Kaizer
Tenor Drummers: Nicole Sudding, Hilton Fleming
Bass Drummer: James Canning
Band Support: Michael Taljaart, Mark Wilson

The WBHS Pipe Band

Teacher in Charge: Mike Leresche; Piping Tutor: Craig Johnston; Drumming Tutor: Jenette Reitsma
Pipers: Sam Taberner, Luke Jeaven, Lukhho Mtwana, Nicholas Mundy
Snare Drummers: Matthew Adams, Nick Horn, Chris Taljaard
Bass/Tenor Drummers: Chibuike Igilige, Cael Lupke, Luyanda Vundla

The WBHS Steel Band

Teacher in Charge: Dave Reynolds
Tenors: Joshua Vincent, Joshua Heath, Kevin Karengera, Victory Chingwete, Connor Brown, Ashley Latchman, Michael Roman, Jessie Theys, Noah J Jacobs
Lead Seconds: Paco Reynolds, Arthur le Roux
Seconds: Gabriel le Roux, Noah R Jacobs
Double Guitars: Jasher Naidoo, Michael van Zyl, Luca Caronti, Chibuike Igilige, David Jones
Triple Guitar: Jamie Lane, Sean Steinhofel
Bass: Joshua Gavin, Oliver Gordon-Finlayson, Noah James, Noah de Canha-Hibbert
Drums: Christopher Taljaard

The WBHS Jazz Band

Teacher in charge: Jonathan Chuter
Saxophones: Tristan van Rooyen, Luca Caronti, Michael Roman, Seth Hermanus, Charles Marston, Chad Julius
Trumpets: Salman Green, Seth Christians, Daniel Sampson, Ronan Mulholland, Ian Lawrence, Nicholas Stanfliet, Justin Schoeman (clarinet)
Trombones: Damian Philander, Mikhyle Mafakala, Declan Taylor, Lukho Mtwana, Jacob Pyaneeandee
Rhythm: Matthew J Adams (Band Leader), Joshua Adams, Jared Benn, Dhanyaal Louw, Christopher Taljaard

The WBHS and WGHS Combined Concert Band

Teacher in Charge: Peter Catzavelos
Flutes: Luqman Samaai, Nicholas James, Oways Samaai, Cameron Grainger, Zara Jacobs, Hanaan Sadien
Clarinets: Justin Schoeman, Xaylon van Rensburg, Jack Rennie, Ethan Leibbrandt, Sarah Boardman-Smith, Malika Solomons
Bassoon: Tyrone Roberts
Alto Saxophones: James Ewart-Smith, Tristan van Rooyen, Michael Roman, Lyle Martin, Connor Vermaak, Luca Caronti, Samuel Mocke, Aimee Buxey
Tenor Saxophones: Seth Hermanus, Charles Marston, Lucius Jacobs
Baritone Saxophone: Chad Julius
Trumpets: Salman Green, Seth Christians, Daniel Sampson, Nicholas Stanfliet, Ian Lawrence, Ronan Mulholland
French Horn: Mikhyle Mafakala
Trombones: Damian Philander, Jacob Pyaneeandee
Euphoniums: Declan Taylor, Benjamin Budge, Caleb Fabe, Qanit Rahim
Tuba: Lukho Mtwana
Bass: Christopher Roberts, Caleb Ford
Percussion: Daniel Heffren, Mathew J Adams, Nick Horn, Zayde Dollie (Band Leader), Joshua Adams, Emma Kemp
Mallets: Arthur le Roux
Timpani: Jared Benn

Sunset Concert, March 23

Scroll to Top