Close this search box.

O Captains, Our Captains: WBHS Sportsmen Captain SA Schools’ Cricket & Rugby for 2 Years in a Row

Wednesday 20 December 23: The announcement after the Khaya Majola Week of Beni Hansen, 1st XI stalwart and Deputy Head Prefect for 2024, as the 2023 SA Schools’ Cricket captain caps an extraordinary year for our Grade 11 player, writing his name, and Wynberg Boys’ High, into South African schools’ sporting history. For the second year running, WBHS has produced both the SA Schools’ Cricket and Rugby captains, an accomplishment only previously achieved twice in the history of SA schools’ cricket and rugby, and only by Wynberg Boys’ High in the open schools’ era post-1994.

Beni shares this rare ‘double’ with 2023 matric, Xola Nyali, who was named captain of the SA Schools’ Rugby team after his performance for Western Province during Craven Week in July.  In 2022 WBHS Head Prefect,  Zachary Porthen, captained SA Schools’ Rugby, while his classmate, Juan James, was named SA Schools’ Cricket captain. That Aniq Burton, matric 2023, was selected as captain of the South African Football Association Cape Town Academy side, the ‘best of the best’, for the Bayhill Premier Cup in April, attests to the remarkable skills and commitment of these five players, as well as the level of match and leadership coaching throughout Wynberg’s sports programme.

Read sports writer Hannes Nienaber’s article from 19 December 2022 for the schools’ and players’ names.

Aniq Burton - Soccer 2023 Beni Hansen - Cricket 2023 Zachary Porthen - Rugby, and Juan James - Cricket, both 2022 Xola Nyali - Rugby 2023

Scroll to Top